A new beginning……..

Whoa! It’s been more than 2 months since I’ve updated this blog! I have so much to write, but yet I may have forgot many important details throughout the months.

God has lead me through many experiences in the following months. I went back to complete to the thing I dreaded the most in the past;BMT. I also went for a horrendous fork-lift course which really proved that I cannot work in the line of logistics. I was promoted and finally got posted out!

Chapter 1: BMT

Initially I was enlisted into a mono-intake, meaning that I would be permanently within a unit throughout my NS life. I wasn’t really used to the environment and culture there. I became quite “emo”. The people there were also quite un-forgiving, in the sense that; if you make a mistake or show yourself to be medically inadequate, you will get ostracized. Somehow, I was “condemned” when I got put on excuse as the doctor thought he needed to run more tests and observations on me.

Slowly, I felt as though my intelligence (or whatever sound mindedness I had) were drained away during my time in Armor! Did a lot of funny and stupid things, but it taught me a lot about sociology,the way people act the way they do and most importantly, myself. As time pass, I grew to be fearful of BMT as I lost confidence to finish it successfully.

I read somewhere that a flea has great jumping abilities but if you put it in a cup and leave it there for some time. Even after you remove the cup, it will not be able to retain it’s jumping capabilities prior to when the cup was placed.

After the barrier is placed on top of it, the flea will keep hitting the top of the lid and perhaps experience pain,disappointment…etc.

Putting  that into context; experiencing prolonged pain and disappointment can really dampen the motivation and abilities of a person. I created an invisible barrier and kept hitting “the wall”.  Every time I thought things will get better, it get’s worse! It was much like a “dessert” experience.

My officer in charge was actually from Hope =)! I thank him for encouraging me with bible verses and ensuring me that I was doing fine even though I thought I was way behind the other recruits.

After 7 weeks in armor I was posted to another unit, ironically the reason I was posted out was not my anemia but rather my weight =P HAHAHAHA! Apparently after I visited Susanna in Australia, I ballooned to 87 from 78! 7887!

They thought that the PES B bmt was deemed not safe enough for me.

Subsequently my Pes dropped because of High blood pressure, which kinda reigns in my family.

When I was in my new unit, I took time to evaluate myself and really reflect. “What is there to fear anymore? God, let’s conquer BMT again!” ,  I took steps to look for my camp’s Medical Officer and told him about my plans to do BMT again.

He was shocked, mouth wide open that a recruit will personally look for him to back to BMT. Most recruits try to avoid going back again, maybe out of fear? Maybe out of some identity crisis? Whatever the cause I wish that they can choose the best path.

I got my ticket back to BMT! I was really happy! Happy that God allowed me to do it again! To have a second chance to make it right!

Chapter two: BMT version 2.0 (recourse)

Company number 5,

Company number 5 was synonymous with pain and suffering! Heard from the NS brothers that this company was filled with high regimentation coupled with sadistic commanders. BUT! When I reached Tekong Island,  took the 5 tonner and unpacked my gigantic bags…..It turned out to be completely different!

First off, the commanders were quite “fun”. Not as sadistic as I anticipated, the bunk mates were quite different from my first BMT. A wide array of personalities, in which I learned many skills from.

I “stole” whatever skills I could, from speed reading to basketball and medicine. I was humbled to see and stay with so many talented people =) !

I also took some time to think, for I had some issues with tithing but it was resolved!

Through God, I was able to overcome all the high keys and endure through the different lessons.

I even managed to share and pray with a group of Christians.

The section next time mine also had someone from our church. An UL from Poly Dins, had a good time chatting and learning from him.

There were also bitter moments too, apparently due to a pack of noodles. I asked for a pack from my own section mate but the person was reluctant so I just thanked that person and went to ask from the WH(UL friend I mentioned). Ate the noodles and this section mate lost his own noodles (retribution? I don’t know). This section mate started to confront me asking for his noodles, I got WH to help clarify this situation but that section mate seemed very defensive.

Well, I was quite sad that relationships can just turn sour because of noodles! LOL! But as I was down and thinking if I did anything wrong, another group of section mates came to encourage me. One of them said that to him, I was one of the best as I helped and am always the first to be there.

I knew instantly that, what I was doing was not wrong. That if a person is innocent or doing something right, I.E Jesus, that person should continue doing what he/she was doing. I thank God for the verse

Proverbs 16:24 (New International Version)

24 Gracious words are a honeycomb,
sweet to the soul and healing to the bones.

it really was spoken at the right time and it was really sweet! Then I got chosen for Guard duty!

Through-out the night, I kept reflecting and making sense of the events that has happened in this many months of NS.

God spoke to me:” Elvis , no matter how tall,short,fat,thin,funny,cool,ugly,handsome….etc one is, there is always people that like you and a group that don’t. Therefore, don’t try to impress or depend on anyone. Just be yourself and depend on Me, just do it for Me!”

God really touched my heart during Guard duty! Being a melancholic/Sang I like to think a lot and the sang side of me always get distracted with the daily hustle and noise.

Only in the most quiet moment, the point where no one is looking and moving around, I can start to stop and think! Perhaps God planned for me to be in this guard duty?

Anyways…. I managed to Pass the BMT and became Private Elvis Wan!

Chapter 3: Fork lift in elm street….

I got posted back to my unit with barely enough time to rest. Went to do work but I was happy because I got to go home early on certain days after things were done and being accounted for. I found out in the last minute that in the following week I had to attend afork lift course.

Day 1 was alright, but I was quite “blur” and discovered that I lack perception! Day 2 was Vesak day!

Day 3 was Hell! Kept banging onto the giant barrels and crates! I was getting worried hahaha, could I pass?

Day 4 was the day I kept getting yelled at but surprisingly I could suddenly maneuver the fork lift adequately!

The word says that His strength is perfected in weakness. During that time, I was thinking to myself:”Why am I the only Christian not doing well, fork lift seem to be so easy to others, what’s wrong with me God?”

On the last day of the forklift course I was still banging onto the giant barrels. BUT, on the exam I didn’t! I had managed to do what I needed to!

I was constantly asking God for help,thinking that I would fail. God’s grace had always been sufficient for me!

I have had never fail a test or exam after dedicating myself to him! Even if I do badly I always seem to be able to pass!

I received news that I had passed,  even though I made many mistakes; I banged the forks on to the floor, I had forgotten to turn off the lights…etc!

I got my off pass and went the hell out of the camp.

The song: “Come Holy Spirit” by CHC kept resounding in my  head.

I praise and thank GOD for His faithfulness! Thank You Father, for it was none of me but ALL of You!

I could not have done it without You Dad! Got the forklift license and up till now I  can not believe it!

Last chapter: Post out….

After the forklift course I was posted back to my unit. I remembered months ago I had been praying for my unit to post me to a camp closer to my home as I had to wake up super early every day.

And it was really expensive to travel! Maybe I made a big “hoo-ha” out of it and some officers actually don’t like me. Well, I agree that maybe I didn’t handle it properly and I actually “grew-up. I know how to look at the bigger picture now.

God made me grow up as a person and Christian. I know more now! And how to make decisions politically and correctly. Officers, I apologize for my childishness and mess ups in the past. I KNOW that some of you are reading this, so let me take this opportunity to apologize where I did wrong. Let me make it right through GOD =)

On Wednesday, I came to know that I was posted to a camp that was just 50 min from my home! I was pleased but somehow it was not what I envisioned. I think now, I don’t care about the distance but more about where I can grow and find GOD =)

God has given me all that I need and grew me up MORE that I ever did in the past. Spiritually, He has challenged me, in HOPE church I managed to serve , learn and Love.

I love you guys and gals! I can truly experience what Jesus meant. A community which loves Him and each other. Though there are conflicts and misunderstanding but we always manage to learn, to forgive and move on together!

I was reminded of all the bitter and sweet moments! I was reminded of Huanyan, times where I was disciplined in love!

Times where I had late night chats with brother J and wonderful times with my LG and shepherd Chengwei.

Indeed, the power in the western world is Christianity!

God is a great GOD!

And Father, the purpose of this blog is to praise and lift Your name!

Father be glorified!

Leave a comment